A complete lack of organisation

Westbourne Avenue Fountain, Hull. Image by S Braham
Westbourne Avenue Fountain, Hull. Image by S Braham

What with the school Christmas Fayre, English course presentation, decorating attempt, and rainy and snowy weather my intention to get fit and healthy had taken a bit of a back burner. I decided to get back on track by taking a long, brisk walk. I have also started to add images to my blog after recently discovering the ‘Master the Basics and Beyond’ guide on WordPress (I guess I maybe should have read this before I started blogging but, as they say, better late then never). I thought it might be a good idea to take my own photos to use. I’m always a bit wary about using others’ work, besides which I’ve always enjoyed taking photos and, who knows, it might develop another latent creative side of me that I didn’t know existed.

I’m blessed to live very close to some lovely Victorian, tree-lined avenues. There is something about trees that I find quite peaceful and restful. They mark the passing of time in such a unique way. Each year is noted by the passing of the four seasons. Eras are revealed by their size and stature. I can get well and truly lost in my own thoughts as I wander along, so it was to here I headed to get some fresh air into my lungs, and blow away the cobwebs.

It was a cold, crisp day, but the sun was shining, and I had wrapped up warmly and was setting quite a pace which helped to ward off the cold. I found the perfect subject for a photo – one of the old, ornate Victoria fountains. I pulled my camera out of my bag, switched it on and was just about to press the button when it switched itself off. Puzzled, I turned it back on and this time saw the warning message. It read ‘low battery’ before turning off again. But no matter, this is the twenty-first century and I have a mobile phone with a camera. Except that I didn’t. I had left it at home.

Cursing myself for my stupidity I headed home in a somewhat tetchy mood, and wondered what had happened to me. I used to be organised, very organised. In fact, it was a source of amusement to my friends. I was one of those people who could be relied upon to meet any deadline. I used to have everything filed away, ready to be produced whenever needed. I never pulled an all-nighter whilst at university. The old me would never have forgotten her mobile phone. The old me would not have left the house without checking the camera battery wasn’t charged. The old me would not have forgotten to charge the camera battery the last time I had used it when it warned me that it had nearly run out.

This is not the first time my newly found lack of organisational skills has caused me trouble. It caused a few wrong turnings and an extra hour travelling time on my family holiday in the summer. The old me would have had a route planned the night before we set off. The old me would have regularly checked our road atlas to ensure we were travelling on the right roads. The new me hastily jotted down a route on a piece of paper at the garage whilst my husband was filling up the car. The new me thought it would be sufficient just to use this slip of paper instead of checking our progress on the road map. The new me then couldn’t find an alternative route quick enough when we came across road works and missed the junction turn-off we needed. Needless to say, my husband bought a sat-nav as soon as we got home.

I don’t understand how I can have gone from one extreme to another. Surely there should have been a slow deterioration in my skills, not an all out loss. Why have I relaxed and mellowed so much? Is my age or because I now have kids? I don’t know, but I don’t like it. Sure, it’s good not to be so uptight but I would like to only have to do something once. I’m not even sure how to get back to something like my old self. Suggestions would be more than welcome! On the positive side, having to go out twice to take a photo did mean that I got two lots of exercise. However, it’s pretty clear I’m unlikely to be the next David Bailey anytime soon. I think I’ll stick to Zemanta.

Leave a Reply

