Fate or chance?

Soho Theatre, Soho, W1
Soho Theatre, Soho, W1 (Photo credit: Ewan-M)

I don’t believe in fate or destiny or luck. Just in choices, chance and coincidences. It’s funny how when you set your mind on doing something how coincidences seem to come along. I wrote in my last post how I wanted to make 2013 my writing year. Then, a couple of days ago, I received the programme of upcoming shows, plays and events from one of my local theatres. Amongst the dramas, musicians and comics was a piece on the various community groups the theatre runs. And here was coincidence number one. One of the groups it runs is a women’s playwriting group.

The last time I harboured an ambition to be a playwright I was ten years old. I spent an immense amount of time writing plays but, neither my school nor local church was prepared to take a chance on me. Down, but not out, I decided to stage my own production. I wrote, cast, directed, marketed and promoted my play. I remember feeling very excited and envisaged the whole neighbourhood coming along to watch. I would humbly receive their applause and adoration. I would be recognised at last. Alas, only a handful of people (who knew my parents) came along and, disillusioned that no-one had recognised my brilliance, I turned my back on play writing.

After such a disastrous experience, it may seem a little odd to want to join a play writing group. But, I feel I really need the support, help and camaraderie of like minded individuals. Who knows, it might just rekindle my love of play writing again. At the very least it promises tea and cake at each meeting.

I also wrote in my last post how I have this insane desire to write poetry, and I’ve been working on a poem for a couple of weeks now. I’m no poet and all I learnt at school about stanzas, rhyming couplets, and pentameters is long forgotten. What I’ve written is raw and needs lots more work, and I really need some help with it. I was just thinking about looking for a poetry group when along came coincidence number two. Although the women’s writing group primarily focuses on play writing, it also looks at other genres; including poetry! In fact, there are poets in the group. I’m now starting to feel like 2013 could really be my writing year. Perhaps I need to rethink my notions on fate.

2 thoughts on “Fate or chance?

  1. Thanks for the link to my article. I, also, write because I love to write. I like your feeling about going back to when you dreamed of being a playwright. Now’s the time. You have a fine smooth feel for the texture of life and language.
    Alice

Leave a Reply

