“Gym mum”

short story class
short story class (Photo credit: Susan NYC)

I have become a gymnastics mum. This is like being a “Soccer Mom” but without the cold and mud. Instead, I get a seat, a warm(ish) sports hall and the chance to write. An hour a week to just sit and write to my heart’s content. Utter bliss! I sit, shut out the world (well, hall) around me and lose myself in my story.

I’ve not only managed to start the short story I’ve wanted to write but I’ve written about three-quarters of it. For someone who has started many stories in the past, but never finished anything, this is something of an achievement. I know I’ve second, third, fourth etc. drafts to do but at least the first draft is nearly done.

I’m not sure what the other parents think as I scribble furiously away in my notebook with my pencil. But, quite frankly, I don’t care. I’ve nearly finished the first draft of a short story. I think a glass of wine is in order.

Leave a Reply

