Nature v nurture

Holding Hands
Holding Hands (Photo credit: WolfS♡ul)

On the school run home yesterday, one of my daughters announced that she had a boyfriend. Once my heart had stopped palpating and I was able to speak, I asked her what she meant by a boyfriend. My other daughter said, “that’s what someone else called him – her boyfriend.” I breathed a sigh of relief. My five year old hadn’t been holding hands and kissing some young pup, it was just a case of some other child teasing and taunting her. “What’s this boy’s name?” I asked, keen to make note of the child who may become a future beau. She told me and I decided to surreptitiously check out this young man.

I didn’t have long to wait. This morning, whilst lining up in the playground, my daughter pointed him out to me. She shouted “hello” to him but he wasn’t looking in her direction and didn’t hear her. My daughter didn’t mind. She just turned around and started chatting to a little girl standing in the line behind her.

I discreetly watched this young man and decided that I wasn’t sure I liked what I saw. He was, quite frankly, a show-off and not the sort of young man I wanted either of my daughters bringing home for tea thank you very much. Suddenly, this boy saw my daughter. If I thought he was showing-off before this had nothing on his behaviour after he spotted her. I actually saw it wind-up not just one notch but several. His clowning around became more exaggerated and his voice became louder. However, for all his efforts, my daughter didn’t see him. She was too busy chatting to the little girl from her class.

Did this stop the young libertine? Of course not, he just became more showy-offy and louder still. To be honest, I didn’t think this was possible but he obviously had his eye set on his prize and wasn’t going to let it go without a fight. Eventually he realised his actions were to naught and went off to speak to his mum. I say him point in my daughter’s direction and heard his mum reply to his little impassioned cries that my daughter looked “very nice.” I shook my head in utter disbelief and wondered how it was that, as young as he was, this five year old boy knew that to get the girl you have to impress her.  Some life lessons, it seems, don’t have to be learnt.

Leave a Reply

